The RA Ministry of Education, Science, Culture and Sports Higher Education and Science Committee

Eastern Partnership countries signed a Memorandum of Understanding


On 27-28 June 2016, the 3rd workshop of the 'Eastern Partnership Science, Technology and Innovation Evaluation Platform' took place in Tbilisi, Georgia. During the meeting, the Memorandum of Understanding on the ‘Establishment of Eastern Partnership Science, Technology and Innovation Regional Evaluation Platform’ was signed by the representatives of the Republic of Armenia, Georgia, Republic of Moldova, Republic of Azerbaijan and Ukraine. The Deputy Chairman of RA MES State Committee of Science Vardan Sahakyan signed the Memorandum on behalf of the Republic of Armenia.

The Memorandum of Understanding will provide the EaP countries with an opportunity to create a regional evaluation platform in the fields of Science, Technology and Innovation aimed at creating a joint S&T expert system and a database of independent experts, as well as applying European formats and standards in the field of scientific expertise etc.

The RA MES State Committee of Science shall coordinate the activities on the creation of a joint database of independent experts, as well as the process of harmonization of formats and standards in the framework of the Memorandum of Understanding. Moreover, the SCS shall be a joint coordinator for 6 types of activities, envisaged by the mentioned Memorandum of Understanding.

During the meeting, a preliminary agreement was reached with the Director of Shota Rustaveli National Science Foundation M. Chitashvili on signing a cooperation agreement between the Republic of Armenia and Georgia in the fields of science and technology.